https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/101141-bilingual_files_source_language_disappears.html

Bilingual files- source language disappears!
Thread poster: Sofia Ortega
Sofia Ortega
Sofia Ortega
Spain
Local time: 03:13
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 1, 2008

Hi there,

I have been using Trados for several years so far with a few of tech problems, luckily all sorted out!
But last week something happened to my bilingual files. Basically, everytime I close a translation segment, the source language is not there anymore, it looks as if the document was already cleaned up. Of course, I can still open every segment, but it is quite frustrating as I can´t see the 2 languages anymore. Also, one of my customers asked (for the first time, M
... See more
Hi there,

I have been using Trados for several years so far with a few of tech problems, luckily all sorted out!
But last week something happened to my bilingual files. Basically, everytime I close a translation segment, the source language is not there anymore, it looks as if the document was already cleaned up. Of course, I can still open every segment, but it is quite frustrating as I can´t see the 2 languages anymore. Also, one of my customers asked (for the first time, Murphy's law) to provide them with the bilingual file and the cleaned up one...and I don´t know what to do to solve this issue...

Thanks in advance!
Collapse

Niels Stephan
Niels Stephan  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2009)
English to German
Must be a feature Apr 1, 2008

For me it was the other way around: It was always like this (invisible original segment after transltion, but it still is there, together with equally invisible Trados tags) and all of a sudden I see both segments after the translation of a segment. So I figured it must be a feature, but I didn't find out so far, how to switch it on and off.

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Search the forum for "hidden text" Apr 1, 2008

Hi Sofia,