New to Trados : Question about 'termbases'?
Thread poster: Anne-Sophie Cardinal

Anne-Sophie Cardinal  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 00:12
Member (2007)
English to French
+ ...
Apr 12, 2008

Hello!

I am brand new to Trados and trying to figure it all out with the self-running tutorials.
I have a VERY BASIC question:

What and where are 'termbases'? I am trying to select one, from the 'Term Recognition Options', but can not seem to find where the location is.

Since I am just starting to use the program, do I have a termbase already or do I need to create one?

Thank you so much for your time and help!

A-S C

Direct link Reply with quote

Steven Capsuto  Identity Verified
United States
Spanish to English
+ ...
Termbases Apr 12, 2008

"Termbase" is a fancy way of saying "glossary database." You'll need to create them (though sometimes clients supply them).

The idea is that you feed your glossary terms into this database, and then your CAT software's Term Recognition feature alerts you when you're translating a sentence that includes one of your glossary terms.

In SDL Trados, you'll use the Multiterm programs to create and add data to termbases.

[Edited at 2008-04-12 10:06]

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Canada
English to French
+ ...
Ecolotrain helps Apr 12, 2008

Here is a page that shows you, step by step, how to create a termbase in MultiTerm. You can just browse the HTML exercise, or if you prefer, you can open its PDF version at the bottom of the page.

http://ecolotrain.uni-saarland.de/index.php?id=1680&L=1

On the left side of the same page, you also have links to two other exercises: one about populating MultiTerm termbases, and another about importing terminology into termbases.

Once you have used these exercises, you only need to read the relevent section of the Trados manual about having Workbench and Word interface with MultiTerm so you can use automatic term recognition and so you can search and add terms from within Word.

All the best!