Christine Roffi
Christine Roffi
United States
Local time: 15:15
English to French
+ ...
Apr 30, 2008

Hello,

I received a RTF file from a client who does not use Trados. I am fairly new to Trados so please forgive my dumb questions which remained unanswered by their tutorials or support files...
Anyway, I use SDL 2007 and opened the RTF file sent by the client into TagEditor. So far so good. Workbench works well. My only problem is that I do not have a TM or a Termbase to go with my translation.
How do I create a TM and a Termbase from the file I am translating and
... See more
Hello,

I received a RTF file from a client who does not use Trados. I am fairly new to Trados so please forgive my dumb questions which remained unanswered by their tutorials or support files...
Anyway, I use SDL 2007 and opened the RTF file sent by the client into TagEditor. So far so good. Workbench works well. My only problem is that I do not have a TM or a Termbase to go with my translation.
How do I create a TM and a Termbase from the file I am translating and use it as I keep translating?
Do I have to wait until my translation is over to create one?
Is it possible to import other files and build a TM and a Termbase to go with my translation ?
Do I have to use WinAlign to do that?
Thank you in advance for your help and patience!
Christine
Collapse

Erik Freitag
Erik Freitag  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 21:15
Member (2006)
Dutch to German
+ ...
RTM Apr 30, 2008

Dear Christine,

your TM will build up as you go. You can also create your own termbase while translating. It is a good idea to read the documentation that came with your software. The "Getting Started Guide" is a good point to start.

Kind regards,
Erik

Viktoria Gimbe
Viktoria Gimbe  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 15:15
English to French
+ ...
Create right from the start Apr 30, 2008

The most user-friendly and non-invasive way to deal with this is the following:

1. Create a termbase using MultiTerm.