cniederalt
cniederalt
Germany
Local time: 15:34
German to English
+ ...
Jun 3, 2008

Hello,

I am pretty new to working with Trados and since my company decided I won't get any training in the program, I am forced to get the hang of Trados by trial-and-error.

I have been working pretty successfully with Word documents in the workbench so far but now I've done a translation in Excel, which I would also like to align and store in my TM database. I just can't seem to work out a way to do this.

Could someone point me in the right direction, pl
... See more
Hello,

I am pretty new to working with Trados and since my company decided I won't get any training in the program, I am forced to get the hang of Trados by trial-and-error.

I have been working pretty successfully with Word documents in the workbench so far but now I've done a translation in Excel, which I would also like to align and store in my TM database. I just can't seem to work out a way to do this.

Could someone point me in the right direction, please? Thanks so much.
Collapse

Selcuk Akyuz
Selcuk Akyuz  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 16:34
English to Turkish
+ ...
WinAlign User Guide Jun 3, 2008

I have SDL Trados 2006 and the manual is located in C:\Program Files\SDL International\T2006_FL\Doc\English

Any questions which were not explained in the guide?

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Transform the Excel contents in RTF files via Word Jun 3, 2008

cniederalt wrote:

Yes, I think Winalign is the solution. However, it is true that Winalign does not take Excel file as far as I know. So the solution might be to copy the contents of the Excel sheets to Word, save them as RTF files (both in the source and target versions), and then use WinAlign to align the RTF files.

As for how to use WinAlign, I think it is simple enough of you follow the instructions. Feel free to ask if you run into big trouble!