Thread poster: Odile Stuart

Odile Stuart  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:02
Member (2006)
English to French
+ ...
Nov 6, 2008

I have just updated my SDL software with Passolo which I have never used before. I would be glad to have comments on this new software. I do not know what to do with it to be frank. Can someone explain to me the benefits of this software. Many thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:02
French to Polish
+ ...
No advantages for most of us... Nov 6, 2008

Odile Stuart wrote:

I have just updated my SDL software with Passolo which I have never used before. I would be glad to have comments on this new software. I do not know what to do with it to be frank.

In most cases, the people don't need it.
Passolo is a (great) tool for sofware localization.
If you don't translate software, it's just a (funny) toy

Can someone explain to me the benefits of this software. Many thanks!

Probably none.
If you don't know what it is, you never heard this name, I'm 100% sure you don't translate software

Generally, Passolo Essentials replaces the very basic Tag Editor features related to the software localization (rc, resx, binaries).
I.e., you'll have a decent work environment instead of the Tag Editor crap.
(e.g. in TE, the handling of the ampersand as tag was a big mistake, the resx (.Net) filter was simply ridiculous...)

BTW.
In fact, the Passolo Essentials is too castrated to be usable in the real llife.
In the software devlopment, we face very often the situations mentionned in the point 3 below...

SDL Passolo Essential is part of SDL Trados 2007 Suite. SDL Passolo Essential includes all main functions needed for the localization of software, with the following restrictions:
• Projects are limited to using one target language
• Only Win32 and .NET programs are supported