Thread poster: Robert Forstag
Robert Forstag
Robert Forstag  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:35
Spanish to English
+ ...
Dec 23, 2008

Apologies for the stupid question, but a job has just been posted in my language pair that requires Trados and Tag Editor. I've just purchased Trados, but I've not yet used it. Does "Tag Editor" come with the Trados package or is this a separate program? If separate, does it cost money, and if it costs money where does one purchase it?

Okay, a number of pretty rudimentary questions here....

Happy holidays to all!

Nicholas Stedman
Nicholas Stedman  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 07:35
French to English
Thanks for asking Dec 23, 2008

Odd you asked this question Robert as I was wondering about Tag Editor this afternoon. I have been a translator for 2O years without using Tag Editor and am suddenly curious about it. What does it do better than others?

Buck
Buck
Netherlands
Local time: 07:35
Dutch to English
What is Tag Editor? Dec 23, 2008

A pain in the a*se, if you ask me. We have recently started using it in the office for PowerPoint files, for example. You have to make sure you don't accidentally delete a tag or forget to copy one and you can't make any changes to a string that isn't open. I much prefer TW. Just my opinion.

Mulyadi Subali
Mulyadi Subali  Identity Verified
Indonesia
Local time: 12:35
English to Indonesian
+ ...
access to tageditor Dec 23, 2008

Robert Forstag wrote:

Apologies for the stupid question, but a job has just been posted in my language pair that requires Trados and Tag Editor. I've just purchased Trados, but I've not yet used it. Does "Tag Editor" come with the Trados package or is this a separate program? If separate, does it cost money, and if it costs money where does one purchase it?

Okay, a number of pretty rudimentary questions here....

Happy holidays to all!