Multiterm - How to transfer old TD content into new structure?
Thread poster: xxxMH2008
xxxMH2008
English to Japanese
Dec 23, 2008

I am using Multiterm 7.5.0.444. I have an old Termbase that contains over 11000 entries in multiple languages. It has been decided that the structure of the TD needs to change, so I will need to transfer all the legacy content into a new Termbase that follows the new structure. The field names do not match between the old and new TDs. What is the best way to do this conversion? I initially thought I could export the legacy TD into an Excel format, change the order and the title of the columns to be compatible with the new TD structure, use Multiterm convert to create an XML and then import that XML into the new TD, but the first step, exporting into an Excel format does not seem to work, since not all entries have the exact same fields populated the data gets misalligned. I would appreciate advice regarding how to work around this. Thank you!

Direct link Reply with quote

Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:19
French to Polish
+ ...
Across... MT5... XML edition... Dec 27, 2008

MH2008 wrote:

I am using Multiterm 7.5.0.444. I have an old Termbase that contains over 11000 entries in multiple languages. It has been decided that the structure of the TD needs to change, so I will need to transfer all the legacy content into a new Termbase that follows the new structure. The field names do not match between the old and new TDs. What is the best way to do this conversion? I initially thought I could export the legacy TD into an Excel format, change the order and the title of the columns to be compatible with the new TD structure, use Multiterm convert to create an XML and then import that XML into the new TD, but the first step, exporting into an Excel format does not seem to work, since not all entries have the exact same fields populated the data gets misalligned.