Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
SDLX lite, creating TM from already translated itd files
Thread poster: angibi

angibi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:21
English to Italian
+ ...
Feb 19, 2009

hello! Please forgive me if this has already been explained in the forum, but I do not seem to find this topic.
I have the lite version of SDLX.
I am able to import the TM provided by the agency, but I also would like to create TMs from by already translated files to be applied to the ones I stll have to do.
Is this possible witl lite and if it is, how can I do it?
Thank you very much
Anna


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 01:21
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Hi Anna Feb 19, 2009

Create a new TM (or open the existing one), open the translated ITD, go to TranslationMemory > update.

Direct link Reply with quote
 

angibi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:21
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
update Feb 19, 2009

Natalie wrote:

Create a new TM (or open the existing one), open the translated ITD, go to TranslationMemory > update.


thank you Natalie, I have been told to do that, but "update" is in gray, so I cannot press it. Is it because I have LITE instead of the full version?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 01:21
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
No Feb 19, 2009

It should work in the Lite version as well.

Have you created or opened any TM?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

angibi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:21
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
TM Feb 19, 2009

I have successfully applied the TM provided by the agency ("Translation memory" "open", browse for TM file, then "apply").

Now I would like to create a new TM based on my already translated files, to be applied to the ones to be translated.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 01:21
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Hi Anna Feb 19, 2009

To create a new TM, you should go to Translationmemory > New and follow the prompts. After having created a new empty TM, you should open the itd, open the empty TM, and click 'update'.

Direct link Reply with quote
 

angibi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:21
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
TM Feb 19, 2009

I think I made it, thank you!!
Only 1 question, why do I do "update", instead of applying the new TM with "apply"?

Anna


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 01:21
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
applying vs updating Feb 19, 2009

Applying a TM means that the translation from an existing TM will be entered in the untranslated file.

Updating a TM means that the existing TM will be updated by new translations available in the translated file.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

angibi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:21
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
TM Feb 19, 2009

You must think I am retarded.
So this means that it is the TM provided by the agency tha has been updated?
If this were the case, should I then apply again the TM provide by the agency to the untranslated files.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 01:21
English to Czech
+ ...
TM Feb 19, 2009

Hi angibi,
the segments you translate in SLDX Lite are always stored in the ITD file ONLY. That means that the TM is not being updated as you translate. You have to update your TM manually for each and every file.
I suppose the agency sent you a TM. You translate an ITD file with this TM and once you are ready (you have proofed and spellchecked) you have to update the TM MANUALLY.
If you are going over to the next file, use again the TM that YOU have updated.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

angibi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:21
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
you have to update the TM MANUALLY. Feb 19, 2009

ok, how do I update the TM manually? is this what Natalie explained me before?

Direct link Reply with quote
 

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 01:21
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Yes Feb 19, 2009

It is exactly what I have posted above. Unless you click the 'update' button, the TM stays as it is, no new entries are added.

Direct link Reply with quote
 

angibi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:21
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
TM Feb 19, 2009

Thank you very much to you both!!
I took me some time to get it, I guess, please bear with me.

Anna


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Anna Sylvia Villegas Carvallo
Mexico
Local time: 18:21
English to Spanish
Taking advantage of your sapience... Feb 19, 2009

(I also have SDLX Lite, but I like to work on Trados TTX and then harvest the translation back to the former.)

But, my problem is, how can I convert a SDLX Lite TM (Office Access file), to a Trados TM? Is this possible?

Thanks in advance for your help.



Direct link Reply with quote
 

Clarisa Moraña  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 21:21
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
You can export the translated file to trados .txt Feb 19, 2009

I would also like that someone tell me how to export the access file to a trados supported format. Meanwhile, you can export certain translation files as a bilingual translation memory with *.txt format:

File > Trados > Export to Trados > (select Trados Import format, at Type) > Save

Please note that not all files translated by you in SDLX can be converted to a Trados Import format. There are many limitations.

Have a nice day

Clarisa


Direct link Reply with quote
 
Pages in topic:   [1 2] >


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

SDLX lite, creating TM from already translated itd files

Advanced search







Protemos translation business management system
Create your account in minutes, and start working! 3-month trial for agencies, and free for freelancers!

The system lets you keep client/vendor database, with contacts and rates, manage projects and assign jobs to vendors, issue invoices, track payments, store and manage project files, generate business reports on turnover profit per client/manager etc.

More info »
WordFinder
The words you want Anywhere, Anytime

WordFinder is the market's fastest and easiest way of finding the right word, term, translation or synonym in one or more dictionaries. In our assortment you can choose among more than 120 dictionaries in 15 languages from leading publishers.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search