Aditi Kane
Aditi Kane  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:18
Japanese to English
+ ...
Apr 27, 2009

Hello,

I work as a Japanese to English translator.

I came across SDL trados 2009 information on the proz.com site.
I have never used SDL trados before.

Has anybody used SDL trados 2009 or previous versions of it?
Is it useful tool for translation?
Is it really worth buying for personal use?

Please let me know.

thanks,
Aditi Kane

Kevin Lossner
Kevin Lossner  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 19:18
German to English
+ ...
Trados Studio 2009 Apr 27, 2009

I've been a Trados user as well as a user of other tools for about 9 years now. The version in question here is not yet released; it is still in beta testing, and I looked at the beta version for a while. If you buy now, you'll actually get Trados 2007, and when the new version is released you'll get a free upgrade. However, the prices are hugely increased compared to previous versions, and I simply do not see the value for the money any more.

Trados will finally adopt an int
... See more
I've been a Trados user as well as a user of other tools for about 9 years now. The version in question here is not yet released; it is still in beta testing, and I looked at the beta version for a while. If you buy now, you'll actually get Trados 2007, and when the new version is released you'll get a free upgrade. However, the prices are hugely increased compared to previous versions, and I simply do not see the value for the money any more.

Trados will finally adopt an interface for translation which is similar to its major competitors, as well as its "sister" product SDLX. As far as the interface is concerned, it would probably be more accurate to call the package SDLX 2009, but the folks in Marketing made a different choice for reasons that are probably obvious.