Thread poster: two2tango

two2tango  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 19:05
English to Spanish
+ ...
May 3, 2009

Hello everyone,

I would appreciate any tip that would enhance my productivity. I am new to Vista and I cannot set up my notebook to the same settings as in my PC. Is Draft (View) equal to Normal as in XP? Is there a shortcut similar to Alt plus that I could use? Going from one segment to the other takes ages, I have to get rid of pagination! I have avoided Design view but still, I can make some coffee and comeback for the segment to appear (exxageration hahhaha)

Thank you a lot in advance!

Haydee

Mykhailo Voloshko  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 01:05
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
answer May 3, 2009

1. Instead of Alt plus you can use Ctrl+Alt+N at your laptop.
2. Install a fix: http://support.microsoft.com/hotfix/KBHotfix.aspx?kbnum=952701&kbln=en-us (it makes trados+word+vista work much faster)

[Edited at 2009-05-03 14:41 GMT]

Clarisa Moraña  Identity Verified
Argentina
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
"Downgrade" to XP May 3, 2009

A year and a half ago, my husband gave me as a birthday present a brand new notebook with Vista. After realizing that it was absolutely slow, I did a phone call to Dell support and a very nice guy spent an hour and a half helping me with the settings to increase my productivity. Online, he entered into my notebook, and reconfigured it. It helped a lot, it was much more faster, but not fast enought as it used to be when I had XP.
After making liters of coffee, and being very nervous with deadlines, I decided that is was better -both for my physical and mental health - to downgrade the system to XP. I lost the OEM guarantee, but the headaches where gone! Trados was not the culprit, but Vista.

Andrea Martínez  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 00:05
Spanish to German
+ ...
I don't have experienced these problems... May 3, 2009