How do I preserve my source text when cleaning up?
Thread poster: Alex Farrell (X)
Alex Farrell (X)
Alex Farrell (X)  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 01:35
Japanese to English
May 13, 2009

Hi all. I'm new to Trados and am translating MS Word 2003 files in which the client needs me to put the English translation under each segment of Japanese source text. How do I get Trados to not remove the source text when cleaning up the file?

Version info: SDL Trados Translator's Workbench 8.3.0.863 - (Build 863) (Part of SDL Trados 2007)

Thanks,

Alex

Giuliana Buscaglione
Giuliana Buscaglione  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:35
Member (2001)
German to Italian
+ ...
aehm.. you can't if you use the "Cleanup" May 13, 2009

Hello Alex,

I am not sure why you'd want not to have the source removed.... if your client asked you to deliver the uncleaned (bilingual file) as well, simply make a copy with a different name. The operation performed with the cleaning up is to remove the source text and keep the target only, your translation. You can't keep the source text this way. During this process a bak file is created (uncleaned) which can be opened in MSWord (if the original file was a doc/rtf). If you clean
... See more
Hello Alex,

I am not sure why you'd want not to have the source removed.... if your client asked you to deliver the uncleaned (bilingual file) as well, simply make a copy with a different name. The operation performed with the cleaning up is to remove the source text and keep the target only, your translation. You can't keep the source text this way. During this process a bak file is created (uncleaned) which can be opened in MSWord (if the original file was a doc/rtf). If you clean up via TWB the TM is updated (useful, in case you have edited the target translation during review without opening segments).