Thread poster: Valerijs Svincovs
Valerijs Svincovs
Valerijs Svincovs  Identity Verified
Latvia
Local time: 19:06
English to Latvian
+ ...
May 15, 2009

Hi all! A Trados newbie here. I am using Word 2000 and Translator's Workbench version 7.5.
The problem is that, when I save and close a segment, all Latvian diacritic characters turn into diacritic characters of some other language(s). For example, the Latvian word "maiņā" turns into "maiòâ". I've read discussions about this problems on other forums, but I doubt in this case it could be solved by exporting/importing the TM, as my TM was created from scratch.
The font of the doc
... See more
Hi all! A Trados newbie here. I am using Word 2000 and Translator's Workbench version 7.5.
The problem is that, when I save and close a segment, all Latvian diacritic characters turn into diacritic characters of some other language(s). For example, the Latvian word "maiņā" turns into "maiòâ". I've read discussions about this problems on other forums, but I doubt in this case it could be solved by exporting/importing the TM, as my TM was created from scratch.
The font of the document is Arial.
This problem seems to occur randomly in certain Word files only (but every once in a while I come across this problem), the same TM works fine with many other files.
Besides, when a segment is closed, its font is changed to Times New Roman.
Looking forward for any suggestions,
Valerijs
Collapse

Adam Łobatiuk
Adam Łobatiuk  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 18:06
Member (2009)
English to Polish
+ ...
Hi Valerius May 15, 2009

The problem could be in the Word styles. Try comparing the formatting details of paragraphs where the problem did and did not occur. Also this could help:

http://www.translationmemory.ru/support/faq/911.php?phrase_id=62555

(even though it says it applies to older versions and to Tag Editor).

HTH
Adam

Valerijs Svincovs
Latvia
English to Latvian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Adam! May 15, 2009