Help counting words in XML files before translating.
Thread poster: mpazolivares

mpazolivares
Mexico
Local time: 09:46
Member (2009)
English to Spanish
+ ...
May 18, 2009

Please I am new with TRADOS and I want to count the words in each XML file I received before starting to translate. How do I do this? The Count Characters from the Tools Button is not the same RIGHT? Because it counts everything including Tags.... O am I wrong?
Thanks a lot!

Adam Łobatiuk  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 16:46
Member (2009)
English to Polish
+ ...
Here's how you do it May 18, 2009

Open C:\Program Files\SDL International\T2007_FL\Doc\English\TranslatorsWorkbench_en.pdf.

Read pages 78-80 and 270-273.
Enjoy your analysis!

mpazolivares
Mexico
Member (2009)
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks for your answer May 18, 2009

But I couldn´t find the exact pages you mean... the numeration was different....icon_frown.gif

Adam Łobatiuk  Identity Verified
Poland
Member (2009)
English to Polish
+ ...
OK, in short May 19, 2009

You need an .ini file with tag settings for your XML files, because they can be very different. Your client should have provided that file, if they asked you to translate XML in Trados.

If you don't have that file, you should ask the client for it, or you could try making your own (in Tag Editor: Tools - Tag settings - New, follow the wizard and import your largest XML file in step 2. Or, if there is a *.dtd file mentioned at the beginning of the XML files, and you can download it, import it instead).

In Trados Translator's Workbench choose Tools - Analyse, load your files into the pane, choose Options - Translation Memory Options - Tools - Tag Settings and select your ini file. Enter your log path and filename.

As you see, this is not very straightforward (mostly because it's XML), so if you're new to Trados, you should really read the Help and the documentation first.

HTH

Michael McCain  Identity Verified
France
Arabic to English
+ ...