Thread poster: Sheridan Green
Sheridan Green
Sheridan Green  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 22:39
Portuguese to English
+ ...
May 22, 2009

I am new to this site, and I'm not a computer programming genius. I was sent a file from a lady to translate, and first of all I couldn't figure out how to decompress it on my Mac (I had to dust off an old PC). Now I have it decompressed and I have been trying for two days to find some kind of program that will actually open it. There are two files: a .ttx file and a .tmw file. I've been all over the forums trying to figure out what to do. PlusToyz wouldn't work on my Mac and I can't get Swordfi... See more
I am new to this site, and I'm not a computer programming genius. I was sent a file from a lady to translate, and first of all I couldn't figure out how to decompress it on my Mac (I had to dust off an old PC). Now I have it decompressed and I have been trying for two days to find some kind of program that will actually open it. There are two files: a .ttx file and a .tmw file. I've been all over the forums trying to figure out what to do. PlusToyz wouldn't work on my Mac and I can't get Swordfish to open it either. Any ideas?Collapse

Yeti_fr
Yeti_fr
Local time: 10:39
English to French
Trados files May 22, 2009

The .ttx file is the file you need to translate and the .tmw file is the translation memory file. Those files are normally opened with SDL Trados: http://www.translationzone.com/ but I think there are other cheaper software allowing you to work with .ttx files

Paul Malone
Paul Malone  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 05:39
Member (2004)
French to English
+ ...
These are Trados files May 22, 2009

Hi Sheridan,

You have received Trados files. The .ttx file is a Trados TagEditor file and the .tmw is a Trados Workbench translation memory (TM) file.

I don't think you'll be able to do the translation unless you have SDL Trados installed on one of your machines.