Thread poster: irishpolyglot
irishpolyglot
irishpolyglot
Ireland
Local time: 07:08
French to English
+ ...
Jun 13, 2009

I'm sure this has a very simple solution. I'm a Trados novice.

I have just upgraded to Trados Freelance 2009 and it definitely looks a lot cleaner than the previous version! I had only been using 2007 for 2 months and found the Automated Translation extremely useful for certain parts of my documents (individual word segments in lists that the automatic translation was correct with for example) and it sped up my work a
... See more
I'm sure this has a very simple solution. I'm a Trados novice.

I have just upgraded to Trados Freelance 2009 and it definitely looks a lot cleaner than the previous version! I had only been using 2007 for 2 months and found the Automated Translation extremely useful for certain parts of my documents (individual word segments in lists that the automatic translation was correct with for example) and it sped up my work a lot for such segments so I left it on by default and wrote over its translation for more complicated phrases and words. It worked in Trados 2007 no problem.
I've just tried to get it working on a new project in Trados 2009 and I can't seem to.

In "term recognition" there's "no open termbase", so I try to "Connect to SDL Multiterm Server" and the "Public SDL Automated Translation Server" was disconnected so I connected it and the green symbol confirms this. But there is still no open termbase. I suppose I need to enter more information (such as server address). I didn't need to do this before and my knowledge of how to use a termbase in general is very weak.

Any advice? I'm really missing this option
Collapse

irishpolyglot
irishpolyglot
Ireland
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
nobody?? Jun 15, 2009

Wow, nobody can help me with this? I think I just need to enter the server address. I believe it was automatically included in the old version, but isn't in this one. Someone please give me a hint...