Analysis: Why is it that my translation analysis differs from the agency's?
Thread poster: Daniela Ciafardoni
Daniela Ciafardoni
Daniela Ciafardoni  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:31
Italian to English
+ ...
Jul 6, 2009

Dear all,
I am fairly new to Trados and I have been having trouble analysing documents for one specific agency. I have Trados 7.0 and Vista 2007.
This is the second time that my analysis does not match the agency's analysis, is this possible if the agency is using an older version of Trados?
On the first occasion, the word count differed by about 3,000 words and this time the number of repetitions differs by about 6,000 words.
My analysis counts 538 repetitions and their
... See more
Dear all,
I am fairly new to Trados and I have been having trouble analysing documents for one specific agency. I have Trados 7.0 and Vista 2007.
This is the second time that my analysis does not match the agency's analysis, is this possible if the agency is using an older version of Trados?
On the first occasion, the word count differed by about 3,000 words and this time the number of repetitions differs by about 6,000 words.
My analysis counts 538 repetitions and their analysis counts 6694 repetitions, this is an enormous difference! How can this happen? Do they have different settings or could there be something wrong with my software? How can I check?
Thanks to all in advance for your help.
Daniela
Collapse

Mauricio Manzo
Mauricio Manzo  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 04:31
English to Spanish
Trados Penalties Jul 6, 2009

You could ask the agency to send you a screenshot with the Trados penalties they are using. Perhaps they differ from default parameters and this is causing the difference in the word count.

Adam Łobatiuk
Adam Łobatiuk  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 09:31
Member (2009)
English to Polish
+ ...
A few ideas Jul 6, 2009

Sorry if some are too obvious, but since you are fairly new to Trados, let's start from those: