Trados Suite 2009 crashing repeatedly
Thread poster: Caroline Lakey

Caroline Lakey  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 15:04
French to English
Jul 15, 2009

Hello,

I'm new to Trados, but used Studio 2009 for a few days last week without too many difficulties.

Today, however, Studio has crashed about 10 times for no apparent reason, whilst working on three different simple Word documents. As you can imagine, it's driving me mad - fortunately, I have generous deadlines on this work, otherwise I would have had to give up on Studio.

Basically, the application just stops responding whilst I'm typing a segment, and I have no alternative but to close it down. When I reopen Studio, it's as though the document had never been there - I have to put the languages in and select the TM all over again, which takes time. Fortunately, the translation is stored in the TM (otherwise I think I'd have probably thrown the whole thing out of the window by now!).

My PC is above the Trados minimum and recommended specs, and is less than a year old. The only other programmes running at the same time are a bilingual dictionary plus MS Office (with Wordfast classic in Word). I ran the latest update (sorry, can't remember the proper name) for studio last week.

Has anyone had the same issue? Better still, has anyone solved the issue?

Many thanks for any advice you can offer,

Caroline

Direct link Reply with quote

Giuliana Buscaglione  Identity Verified
Austria
Member (2001)
German to Italian
+ ...
http://www.proz.com/topic/137998 Jul 15, 2009

Hello Caroline,

you can read through this thread http://www.proz.com/topic/137998

The list of issues is pretty long, but SDL has already addressed a few via hotfix and some more will be fixed (we all hope) with the SP1

Giuliana

Control S Jul 15, 2009