Thread poster: Gillian Searl

Gillian Searl  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:15
Member (2004)
German to English
Jul 21, 2009

Hi everybody,
I use Trados every day but this customer has a project in SDLX. I used Studio 2009 but now in the SDLX file there are formatting (tag issues). I am right on the edge of my expertise here - so many CAT tools so little time. Maybe I could fix them in Studio but anyway...
How do I copy and place the tags in SDLX? I know its basic but this project needs delivering...

E.g.
Source:
TAG (nachfolgend "TAG TAG Customer TAG TAG" genannt TAG
Target:
(hereinafter referred to TAG Customer TAG TAG")TAG

Thanks
Gillian

Direct link Reply with quote

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 19:15
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Restore source Jul 21, 2009

Restore source and carefully insert your translation betw. the tags. Use spaces where you need no text between tags. That's how I do it. I'm no expert.
Regards
Heinrich

Michael Zapuskalov  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 21:15
English to Russian
+ ...
Some questions: Jul 21, 2009

1. *this customer has a project in SDLX* - you mean the source file is already an *.itd file? Or you have to convert it into SDLX-file yourself?

2. *in the SDLX file there are formatting (tag issues)* - who said/wrote it? SDL edit or you think so?

3. *E.g.
Source:
TAG (nachfolgend "TAG TAG Customer TAG TAG" genannt TAG
Target:
(hereinafter referred to TAG Customer TAG TAG")TAG* - You mean you need same tagging as in Word?

Hint: (in SDL edit) View > Tags > Long Tags

Ángel Guillén  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 18:15
English to Spanish
tags in sdlx Jul 21, 2009

in order to include tags in SDLX:

A possible solution is pressing F4 (which will copy the whole source segment in the target segment - with the source text, of course. You will have to type the translation again).