Problems working with Trados 2007 outsourcers from Trados 2009
Thread poster: irishpolyglot

irishpolyglot
Ireland
Local time: 09:42
French to English
+ ...
Aug 4, 2009

I really like everything about Trados 2009, the new interface, layout etc.
But all of my outsourcers still use 2007! This has caused us problems and my most important outsourcers have stopped sending me work because of it!
I must be missing something obvious, but how can I be backwards compatible? The single file TM is of no use to them - I can't find anyway to produce the multiple files TM compatible with 2007. Is there a way?? They had reluctantly accepted the TMX from me at one stage, but no more.
Also, they have requested Uncleaned Files if possible, so that at least they could produce the TM themselves. I could not find out how to produce this file.
Anybody suggesting solutions to these problems, or workarounds would be saving my skin!!icon_smile.gif I'm very new to Trados. I had only used 2007 for a month before upgrading, and really wish I had waited now despite the improvements, unless of course I can find a way around these problems!
Thanks so muchicon_smile.gif

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 10:42
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Pre processing and post processing in Trados 2007 Aug 4, 2009

As simple as that:
Export SDLTM to TMX and import it into the customer TM in Trados 2007.
This way you can work stright in Studio and still deliver TMs.

But if your customer wants billingual files:
After receiving the files, open them in Tageditor, save as ttx, process TTX in Studio and produce both target file and billingual file there.

irishpolyglot
Ireland
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I don't have 2007! That's the point... Aug 4, 2009

The whole point is that I don't have 2007, I just have 2009. I'd rather find a solution that didn't require me buying expensive older software just to convert files.