Understanding analysis results in Translator's Toolbench
Thread poster: FC l
Sep 3, 2009

Hi there,

I am new to using SDL Trados 2007. I created a translation memory by aligning previously translated text and ran analysis on a batch of untranslated texts against the content of the tm. I am unclear about the meaning of the 'repetitions' result. 5, 236 or 9% of my 30,470 segments are 'repetitions'. Does this mean that 9% of the segments in the untranslated text appear more than once in that same text? Also does this figure have any impact on the fuzzy match percentages?

Thanks.

Direct link Reply with quote

Birgit Gläser
Germany
Local time: 09:32
English to German
+ ...
Repetitions are 100% matches Sep 3, 2009

The Trados analysis will give you the breakdown for 100 % matches = what you already have in your TM, fuzzy matches in the various ranges = where you have something you can build on and untranslated text. The repetitions are basically on top of all this and refer to 100 % matches in the text. They may be repetitions of 100 % or fuzzy matches you already have in your TM or repetitions of untranslated text.

In other words, once you work on the text, the repititions will come up as 100% matches in the translation process.

Some translators use the analysis for billing purposes, like untranslated full price, 75-99 % half price and 100 % or repetitions quarter price.

The breakdown to words/segments/percent should help you to assess how long it is going to take you to translate the text. So if you have an easy text of 10 pages, the draft will probably take 4-5 hours, but if you have 25 % repetitions, you can shave 25 % of the presumably required time.

As I am doing in-house translations, I usually look at the number of pages and the analysis and tell my "client" what day/time he/she will get it and how much they will owe me if I have to do a night shift