Supporting HTML files in Trados Studio
Thread poster: Pattranslations
Pattranslations  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 14:40
Sep 15, 2009

Hello,

I'm new to Trados Studio and when I followed a Webinar from SDL on the Studio version, I understood that the HTML tags were no longer visible in Studio, which is much better than viewing them all, like in Tag Editor.

Now here is my problem:
I created a project with 4 files to be translated, among which a file with an HTML extension. The point is that Studio considered there are only 3 files to be translated and that the HTML file is for reference only. I checked in the Help file for information and looked at Tools > Options settings regarding the HTML filter, but I could not find which settings could help me solve this issue.

Then, I tried to open the HTML file with MS Word, using the Unicode-UTF8 encoding, and I saved it as .htm. The point is that all HTML tags now show in this file, which can be added to the project and opened in Studio for translation.

But then, where is the advantage Studio is supposed to offer as to not showing the tags? I feel like I'm using Tag Editor to this extent...

Thanks in advance if you can help me with this.

Direct link Reply with quote

Carmen Moreton
Spain
French to Spanish
+ ...
Try changing the status file Sep 16, 2009

In the File tab you will find your HTML file. Right click with your mouse and select the "Change file usage" (sorry if translation is not exact, my SDL Trados is in Spanish). Select translatable.
Right click again on the file name and select Batch tasks, then click in Prepare option.
You will get your translatable file at the end of the process.
Hope this helps!

CMG

PMz
Please don't use Word Sep 16, 2009

Pattranslations wrote:

Hello,

I'm new to Trados Studio and when I followed a Webinar from SDL on the Studio version, I understood that the HTML tags were no longer visible in Studio, which is much better than viewing them all, like in Tag Editor.