Newbie Question: Trados Group buy - Installation & OS
Thread poster: Kay S
Kay S
United States
Local time: 15:02
English to Japanese
Oct 22, 2009

Hi, I am new to this, so please bear with me.
I signed up for Trados group buy, and I was told to make a payment by Friday, so I am getting a bit panicky...

I searched the past entries, but I could not find the answer to my questions... I am sorry if this has been asked already in the past (I am sure it has!).

My question is, does it work on Win7? I am planning to buy Win7 soon, and I want to install Trados on Win7.

If Trados is download only, if something goes wrong with my pc and I want to re-install Trados, can I download it again? How many times? How long can I access the installation files? To be honest, I am nervous to pay that much money for download only software... but I need it!

Thank you very much in advance for your help!

Sincerely,
Kay

Direct link Reply with quote

Marinus Vesseur  Identity Verified
Canada
English to Dutch
+ ...
Trados Studio and Windows 7 Oct 22, 2009

Hi Kay

That is a lot to put on your plate in one go. Windows 7 is new and you're new to CAT, resp. Trados? Reserve a few days for learning, my dear.

But to your question: several colleagues have installed Trados on Windows 7. It usually worked, especially in Windows 7 32-bit. There are some problems with 64-bit Windows, expecially with MultiTerm, however, though things seem to have improved with Trados Studio Service Pack 1, which will probably be the version you are getting.

There will be a page reserved for you on www.translationzone.com where you will be able to download Trados as often as you like.

The real problem is the activation process. That has caused tons of issues and the support from SDL overall is really bad.

I recommend Win 7 32-bit, if you have that option and to get a support contract with SDL, at least for the first year. It's the only reliable way to get human support, which you will be needing.