How do Translation Memories are managed in SDL2009?
Thread poster: Patricia Barthélémy
Patricia Barthélémy  Identity Verified

Local time: 01:39
English to French
Oct 29, 2009

Hi,

First of all, I'm sorry if I replicate a topic already been answered.

I am new to SDL 2009 and don't understand how translation memories are managed.

Let's say a TM "Mémoire-XYZ" already exists.

When I open a project XYZ1234 and assign Mémoire-XYZ to it, the memory seems to be copied in a "Tm" folder of the project structure and named "XYZ1234_Mémoire-XYZ".

Is this a new TM? Is it linked to the main TM? While translating, which memory is updated?

Thank you for your help.
Patricia

[Modifié le 2009-10-29 20:36 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Giuliana Buscaglione  Identity Verified
Austria
Member (2001)
German to Italian
+ ...
Translation memory button Oct 30, 2009

Hello Patricia,

click on the translation memory button on the left side and you'll see which TMs are in use and which will be updated/used as reference only. Simply tick the corresponding box if you wish that all listed TMs are updated. You can also add further TMs clicking on the plus symbol. You can also see that if you check the project settings. Personally I think that this way is faster.

Giuliana

English to French
TOPIC STARTER
How SDL manages the translation memories in a project Oct 30, 2009

Hi Giuliana,

Thank you for your answer.

What I'm trying to understand is how SDL Trados is managing the translation memories and what exactly does it copy in the Tm folders of the Project. It seems to be a lighter version of the TM I want to use? That's what I don't get...

Patricia

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English
Project Translation Memory... Oct 30, 2009

Hi Patricia,