Translated PPT file slide layout changed
Thread poster: Umang Dholabhai

Umang Dholabhai  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 21:37
English to Gujarati
+ ...
Nov 8, 2009

I am a novice Trados user, I had this ppt to translate which I did using the tag editor. All went on well till I cleaned and saw the end result. The source file had a vertical slide layout, whereas this translated file contained all the slides in landscape layout. Not only that, the background colors and graphics too went missing. I am not able to trace where I went wrong. Could any one please help out. I used the Trados 2007 Freelance version for this job. I tried to locate the solution in the forum topics to no avail. On searching SDL Support, there was a mention of one Powerpoint 2007 hotfix, I am wondering if that would be useful for this particular challenge. I use 2007 MS Office.

Direct link Reply with quote

Wojciech Froelich  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 18:07
English to Polish
PPT or PPTX? Nov 8, 2009

Umang Dholabhai wrote:

I am a novice Trados user, I had this ppt to translate which I did using the tag editor. All went on well till I cleaned and saw the end result. The source file had a vertical slide layout, whereas this translated file contained all the slides in landscape layout. Not only that, the background colors and graphics too went missing. I am not able to trace where I went wrong. Could any one please help out. I used the Trados 2007 Freelance version for this job. I tried to locate the solution in the forum topics to no avail. On searching SDL Support, there was a mention of one Powerpoint 2007 hotfix, I am wondering if that would be useful for this particular challenge. I use 2007 MS Office.

If you translated PPT, try saving it as PPTX and converting/translating again. I have seen strange things happening to PPT files with non-standard features.

Umang Dholabhai  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 21:37
English to Gujarati
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER