https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/150809-possible_to_transfer_tm_from_one_licence_to_another.html

Possible to transfer TM from one licence to another?
Thread poster: Nadescha Vester
Nadescha Vester
Nadescha Vester  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 14:19
German to English
Nov 13, 2009

Dear Colleagues,

I would like to know whether it is possible to transfer a translation memory file from one licence to a different licence (on a different computer).

I work as an in-house translator for a translation company where I have established one translation memory which I use for all my translations. It is getting larger and larger, and more valuable to me as it is growing. The office uses the freelance version of Trados (not sure which year).
I am plannin
... See more
Dear Colleagues,

I would like to know whether it is possible to transfer a translation memory file from one licence to a different licence (on a different computer).

I work as an in-house translator for a translation company where I have established one translation memory which I use for all my translations. It is getting larger and larger, and more valuable to me as it is growing. The office uses the freelance version of Trados (not sure which year).
I am planning on buying the latest Trados freelance version for myself to install on my laptop at home. I would then like to copy the memory I have built up at the office to the Trados programme I will have on my laptop at home to use for future translation work I will do from home.
Is this possible at all?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Best regards,
Nadescha
Collapse

Stanislav Pokorny
Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
English to Czech
+ ...
It is possible Nov 13, 2009

Hi Nadescha,
it is definitely possible. Either the TM (Workbench) versions are compatible, and even if they are not, you can always use the TMX format to exchange TMs between different Trados versions (and different CAT tools in general). Here's how: