Tageditor (trados 2006) and Indesign 5.0 files
Thread poster: Manu Garcia

Manu Garcia
Local time: 16:03
German to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 25, 2009

Hello. I am a newbie at this forum.
I have arrived here looking for help on using Trados to translate an InDesign file made with 5.0 version.
I use InDesign 6.0 (CS4) to extract the file to .inx format. Then I open this in TagEditor, translate and save translation. Then I save target as, indesign cs2 interchange. So far so good, as I understand that I have done well so far. I now have a .inx file translated, and I want to import it into InDesign. And here comes the problem. InDesign menu File, Import XML is the only I find to import things. What am I doing wrong? This is the first time I do this kind of job and I am very interested in doing it right.
Can anyone please help me? I want to know the process to translate the file and to put the translation into InDesign.
Thanks in advance!
manu

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Use the "Open file" command in InDesign Nov 25, 2009

and you will simply open the *.INX as would it be an INDD

But if you use this outdated Trados I smell trouble...

Manu Garcia
German to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
thank you! Nov 26, 2009

Thank you jerzy for your help.
I opened the file, but it still appears in German language.
What do you mean by "outdated"? Should I spend another 1000 euros for a software not worth the price? Well, if it only worked...!
Anyway, maybe I must try an older version of indesign to open the file. I am lost at this point and don't know what else to do.
Any other suggestions?
Thanks again for your help jerzy!

Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
English to Czech
+ ...
Upgrade, not a brand-new license Nov 26, 2009

Hi Manuel,
what I recommend is an upgrade. It will cost you something, but not as much as a new license. Why would you want to have two?icon_smile.gif