Term recognition in Trados Studio 09
Thread poster: Swedish Fish
Swedish Fish
Local time: 03:57
English to Swedish
+ ...
Dec 29, 2009

Hello all!

I'm just getting started in Trados Studio and need some help. In Déjà Vu, when you have created a new term base and start adding new word pairs you will immediately start getting suggestions on terms as they re-appear in the text. I have started a term base and added a number of word pairs, but no suggestions pop upp when a word appears later on in the text. Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance!

Direct link Reply with quote

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Check your view settings Dec 29, 2009

In Studio the term appears in term recognition immediately after inserting it into the termbase. You can see it in the term recognition window and it is also marked as a recognized term by a red line above it in your translation memory view of current segment.
If the red lines appear, you however still do not see any terms, most probably you simply switched to the termbase search view window instead of terminology recognition window.
Provided your window layout of Studio is near to the default one, check which tab is clicked in the termrecognition window in the right above corner of Studio screen. The "Terminology recognition" tab should be active, as otherwise you will not see any recognized term (but the term recognition still does work).

Selcuk Akyuz  Identity Verified
Turkey
Local time: 05:57
Member (2006)
English to Turkish
+ ...
Reorganisation Dec 29, 2009

You may need to reorganise the termbase in MultiTerm.
Also check the indexes in Studio. Actually there are many settings in Studio related to Term Recognition.

If it doesn't work, you may try DVX build 316.

Jean-Pierre Artigau
Canada
Local time: 21:57
English to French
+ ...
Open termbase Dec 29, 2009