Advice sought in respect of making memory and use of dual monitors.
Thread poster: chopra_2002

chopra_2002  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 13:29
Member (2008)
English to Hindi
+ ...
Jan 15, 2010

Dear friends,

I have been translating for over two decades but I have started using Trados in the last year only. Therefore, I want to have advantage of my previous translations. I tried to use Winalign to build up and enrich my memory but I am facing a number of practical difficulties and that is why, I chose a different method and I opened both the source and target files side by side on screen and tried to make memory by opening a segment of source file and then putting the translation from the target file. I was successful but this process kills a lot of time.

Is there some other manner of making memory from the files translated earlier.

Secondly, I am planning to use two monitors with the same computer so that I may open the source file on one and the target on the other. In this process, it would be convenient for me to view the text to be copied, pasted and inserted. I want to know if it is possible to copy the text from one monitor and then paste it in the file on other computer? I wish to know this before buying a Graphics Card and another monitor because if it is not possible to do this, I should not waste my money.

Regards,

Chopra

Excuse me, I forgot to mention, I have Windows XP Professional, Trados Freelance 7.0, MS Office 2003 and most of my earlier files are MS Word files.

[Edited at 2010-01-15 14:38 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Attila Piróth  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 09:59
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Alignment + double screen configuration Jan 15, 2010

Hi Chopra,

Both of these investments are very sound; I don't think I could switch back to working without a CAT tool or to a single-.screen configuration. So, go ahead!

langclinic wrote:

Dear friends,