How to analyze a file
Thread poster: Elizabeth Kelly
Elizabeth Kelly
Ireland
Local time: 17:44
English to German
+ ...
Jan 20, 2010

As a total beginner on the CAT tool grounds, I am trying to figure out the genius that is Trados I have just finished a translation and want to see the analysis results. How exactly to I analyze the file?

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxBrandis
Local time: 18:44
English to German
+ ...
two types there.. Jan 21, 2010

Hi! you take an analysis before beginning with the translation and once after completing it. This usually reflects what is to be done and charge as per agreed conditions. At the end you should see 100% match, meaning the translation is complete. Check under tools tab in Trados workbench. Brandis

Elizabeth Kelly
Ireland
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Yes, I realized my mistake :-( Jan 21, 2010

Thanks Brandis. I did realize I should have done the analysis before I started translating. What put me off was that I tried to analyze it in Studio by going into "Batch tasks"(Analyze files), but kept getting "no tasks available". When the translation was finished, the analysis was carried out no problem, but of course that's when I got 100% Context match (not very helpful). So the initial analysis has to be carried out in Workbench?

Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
English to Czech
+ ...
Use Batch tasks indeed Jan 21, 2010

Hello Elizabeth,
no need to analyze the project files in Workbench. This is how you can analyze projects in Studio:
1. Go to the Projects View, right-click on the project you want to analyze and select Batch Tasks > Analyze Files from the context menu; or
2. Go to the Fiels View, mark all the files you want to analyze and proceed as mentioned under point 1.

You will then find the analysis results in the Reports View.

[Upraveno: 2010-01-21 10:49 GMT]

Elizabeth Kelly
Ireland
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I tried that Jan 21, 2010