Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
How can I get "unclean" files from a finished Trados St 2009 project?
Thread poster: Miguel Fuentes

Miguel Fuentes  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 21:58
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 28, 2010

Hello,
-I am a beginner in CAT tools.
-Very recently I purchased SDL Trados 2009.
-I have never worked with Trados 2007.
-Yesterday I completed my fourth project using Trados 2009, closed the project and delivered the target files.
-The client who works on the SDL 2007 version is asking for "unclean" files to proof the translation and update their TM.
- Apparently Trados 2009 automatically cleans the target files after completion of a project.
-I can't find a way to get the "unclean" files!
-The client tells me there must be .bak files (unclean files) stored somewhere in my computer but I just can't find them.

SDL has not responded yet to my support requests and I am getting nervous here as the client is getting upset !

Could you please tell me how to get those "unclean files"???

Thanks a lot in advance for your support!

Direct link Reply with quote

Claudia Alvis  Identity Verified
Peru
Spanish
+ ...
More information Jan 28, 2010

Which format are the files?

If it's a regular Word file, you should export the TM used in the project: in the TM module in Studio, open that TM (it's in the Project file in the TM folder) and export it.

Create a new TM with Trados 2007 Workbench and import the TM you exported in the previous step. Don't close Workbench, you will re-translate the document with it.

Open the Word file, place the cursor at the beginning of the document and press Alt+Home. Workbench should give you a 100% match and translate the content automatically. If there's a format issue, can can edit it manually. Press Alt+* to translate until a fuzzy match is found (which you can edit manually.)

Keep doing that until you reach the end of the document.

That's it.

Mexico
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER