How to merge two segments in Trados 2009?
Thread poster: Elodie Bonnafous

Elodie Bonnafous  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 09:00
Member (2009)
German to French
+ ...
Feb 1, 2010

Hello everyone,

I'm still a newbie with Trados Studio 2009, and I can't find how to merge 2 segments, or more precisely, I can't find how to select 2 segments at the same time.

Every hint will be helpful.

Thanks in advance

Direct link Reply with quote

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 15:00
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Use segment numbers Feb 1, 2010

Click the number of the first segment to merge, then press SHIFT and click the number of the last segment to merge.
You will be able to merge segments, if they are not separated by a paragraph mark.

Giles Watson  Identity Verified
Italy
Italian to English
Merge segments Feb 1, 2010

Jerzy is right.

This is what the Trados 2009 help file says if you look up "merge segments" in the index:

To merge segments:

In the side-by-side editor window in the Editor view, hold down the [CTRL] key and click on the segment number column to select rows you want to merge.

Right-click in the segment number column of the last selected row and select Merge Segments from the shortcut menu. If there are any translations for the merged segments, those translations are merged.

NOTE
You can only merge neighbor segments in the same paragraph.

Elodie Bonnafous  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 09:00
Member (2009)
German to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Jerzy and Giles / Still doesn't work Feb 1, 2010

Indeed the first clicked segment is highlighted in blue, the last one in pale yellow, but I still can't merge both.

I just need to merge 2 segments because they belong together in the source text.

Why doesn't it work? Are there other possibilities ?

[Modifié le 2010-02-01 18:42 GMT]

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
The answer is already there Feb 1, 2010