Thread poster: Carlotta Minozzi

Carlotta Minozzi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 16:30
Italian to English
+ ...
Feb 28, 2010

Hello everybody,
I'm new to Trados Studio 2009 and I apologize in advance 'cause I'm sure I'm doing something wrong
I tried to create a new project opening an inx file; I tried to translate a few sentences and export the target language to another inx file, and it worked. The problem is that in the Analysis Statistics window there is no analysis at all. It seems that Trados cannot count the words/characters in the project. I tried to create another project using a .doc file but the problem is still the same, no word count at all.
Any suggestion?
Thanks in advance for your help which I really really appreciate!
C.

P.S.: I really need to figure out how to solve this problem urgently as I have to quote a project for a client within tomorrow (Monday)...

[Edited at 2010-02-28 17:52 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

ERNESTO GARCIA MARIN  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 09:30
Member (2009)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Count it in Word Feb 28, 2010

I have WordFast, so know very little of Trados, but if you need statistics - counting - use Word to send your bid
best regards

Eduardo García Soñanes
Mexico
Local time: 09:30
English to Spanish
The statistics are in the reports Feb 28, 2010

Hello Carlotta,

Click on Reports (on the left panel of Studio 2009). The top of the panel will change to "Reports" listing the reports of your project. You will see three report types: Translation Count, Pre-translate files, and Analyze files. Click on each of them to see what you need. "Analyze files" contains the same statistics as the previous Trados versions. With your report open, you can save it as an Excel file (from the Report menu or with the corresponding button in the toolbar).

These reports are already saved in xml in your project directory. This is where Studio retrieves them from to display them onscreen.

Happy translating