Don't want to see Automatic Translations in the target segment.
Thread poster: Adriana Alvarez

Adriana Alvarez
Mexico
Local time: 03:11
Member (2016)
English to Spanish
Mar 11, 2010

Hi,

I'm new to Trados 2009 SP2 Trial Version and I'm using the AT tool from Google, however I only want to see the AT on the Translation Results Window, not on the target segment. But when I click on a new segment, it automatically fills up with the AT from Google. How can I prevent this from happening?

Thank you,

Adriana.

Direct link Reply with quote

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:11
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
NOT POSSIBLE Mar 11, 2010

I don't know how to prevent it happening, as I think that it always comes up automatically in the target segment (the idea is to make your work faster I suppose). You can easily delete it quickly with alt+delete if you don't want it, and if you have any match from a "real" TM then it will appear in the target segment and the machine translation will be offered in the translation results window. To transfer any results from that window into your target segment, simply press alt+the corresponding number.
Hope that helps

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English
Disable "Apply best match..." Mar 11, 2010

Hi Adriana,

I'm pretty sure you can prevent the automatic copying of the AT into your target by disabling the "Apply best match after successful lookup" in Tools-Editor-Automation. Then you can use Alt+nr to select the match you want to use or simply translate it yourself.

Regards

Paul

Adriana Alvarez
Mexico
Local time: 03:11
Member (2016)
English to Spanish
TOPIC STARTER
Both solutions worked. Mar 12, 2010

Thank you Emma, I really liked the alt+del, as for some reason I was having lots of problems deleting the AT. Very helpful!

Trados Support answer was also very helpful and it worked. Now at least I get to choose if I want the AT text copied. Thank you!

Adriana.