Buying Trados for the first time
Thread poster: Isabel Conde

Isabel Conde  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 14:43
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 15, 2010

I bought Trados Studio which came with Trados 2007. That was nice. I started learning Trados 2007, when suddenly my instructor told me that I only can use Multiterm in the Studio application.

I felt that SDL was kidding me. It is as if I had bought two expensive rectangle table, but one of them came with 3 legs. I feel they are forcing me to use Studio right now. How I am going to do when a client send me a glossary if I am using Trados 2007? Because if I want to use it anyway, I can still export my glossary from WinAlign and import them in Workbench. But, still, it is a lot of work and time consuming.

Can SDL give me the 4th leg of the table? I think I have the right to have it. Can someone from SDL answer these questions?

Argee01

Direct link Reply with quote

Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:43
French to Polish
+ ...
LOL Mar 15, 2010

argee01 wrote:

I bought Trados Studio which came with Trados 2007. That was nice. I started learning Trados 2007, when suddenly my instructor told me that I only can use Multiterm in the Studio application.

LOL.
LOL.

I felt that SDL was kidding me. It is as if I had bought two expensive rectangle table, but one of them came with 3 legs. I feel they are forcing me to use Studio right now. How I am going to do when a client send me a glossary if I am using Trados 2007? Because if I want to use it anyway, I can still export my glossary from WinAlign and import them in Workbench. But, still, it is a lot of work and time consuming.

Can SDL give me the 4th leg of the table? I think I have the right to have it. Can someone from SDL answer these questions?

The 4th leg exist.
It's visibly shorter but it exist

Multiterm 2009 works well with Trados 2007 and I consider it's better than Multiterm 2007.
You have dowloaded and installed it?

Cheers
GG

Argentina