Thread poster: Clara Díaz

Clara Díaz  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 05:22
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 7, 2010

Dear all,

First of all, please excuse my Trados illiteracy. I'm rather new to Trados Studio and still don't understand some of its tools. I've translated a couple of Excel files in Studio so far. The client asked me to provide both the exported TM and the unclean file. What I did then was to create a TM for the project in Studio and, after translating the document, I aligned the files in WinAlign so I could have a TM in Workbench. Because WinAlign would not accept the format of my Excel docs, I had to save them as bilingual in TagEditor. However, this only worked with the source file. As for the target file, as TagEditor would not recognize my Excel file, I couldn't save it as bilingual and so, I had to work in WinAlign with a xlsx file full of tags I took ages to get rid of.

Having said that, my question is the following: could you please tell me whether there is a simpler and/or quicker way of doing this or do I need to repeat this process everytime I'm asked for an exported memory? I suppose the unclean file can be the .sdlxlif file that is created in Studio so, it looks like I don't need to align the documents in order to produce the unclean file. However, I still need to do this in order to be able to send the exported TM to the client.

It might well be that I haven't understood anything of how Trados works and that I've been using it wrongly for a while. Anyway, I would appreciate it if you could give me a hand on this.

Thanks in advance!

Clara.

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 06:22
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
The TM export file from Studio is a .tmx file Apr 7, 2010

Hi Clara,

The .tmx file that you export from the Studio TM can just be sent to the client as it is. If the client is still using Workbench, that is no problem, because a .tmx file can be imported into Workbench.