Lithuania
Local time: 06:26
Member (2008)
English to Lithuanian
+ ...
Apr 15, 2010

Dear all,

I would like to ask for your help.

Could you, please, enumerate the features that Trados Prof/Freel. 2009 has, which other CATs do NOT have (or have it in an inferior form)?

Trados seems to be the most expensive of them all, but why is it worth it?

Any help with as many features as possible will be very much appreciated.

Yours sincerely,
Vitalijus

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 05:26
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Not a very independent judgement... Apr 15, 2010

I reckon this is not the best way to obtain an independent judgement. My advice is that you download and try as many products as possible and judge for yourself...

Magdalena Szewciów  Identity Verified
Poland
Member (2008)
English to Polish
+ ...
my personal opinion Apr 15, 2010

I've been working on Wordfast Classic for 5 years now. I came back from Trados training yesterday and I'm very excited as FINALLY I see the difference between the two! Wordfast Classic is my first love, so to speak, but the AutoSuggest functionality in Trados 2009 speeds works so much that I'm actually considering changing the main CAT I use from WF to Trados.

And in my case, it's only about speeding up my work. Apart from that, I think every CAT is good... enough.icon_smile.gif

Bernard Lieber  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...
Set your own specifications Apr 15, 2010

It all depends on what kind of word processing/DTP software you're using most frequently- keep in mind that software editors whether Trados, Alchemy, Atril, Transit, etc. focus on specific markets. For instance, if you're localizing a lot of *.rc files, Alchemy S/W is better but Trados handles InDesign files really well, etc.

You should list what kind of files you translate regularly and pick the TM that suits your requirements.

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...