Thread poster: Peter Sass

Peter Sass
Germany
Local time: 06:12
English to German
+ ...
Apr 16, 2010

Hi everyone,

I have a Multiterm 2009 termbank which is currently 400 MB large (based on a dictionary).
It is a local TB (on PC), ie. not server-based.

I'd like to use it in Trados Studio but whenever it is leveraged, Studio breaks down.
This is especially unfortunate as I was planning to expand the TB up to a size of about 2 GB.

Now, SDL somewhere say that termbanks could hold an unlimited number of entries, but I wonder what the actual 'working' size limit is to use them in Studio?

The same would be interesting to know regarding TM size and the overall of size of termbanks leveraged simultaneously in one project.

I would both like to know the 'official' specification and hear experiences in practise by other users.
Also, if there is a de facto size limit, are there still ways to make the TB leverage/search work better by changing settings (such as Java ones)?

Thanks for any hint.

PC: Windows XP, Pentium 4, 4GB RAM

[Bearbeitet am 2010-04-17 14:31 GMT]

Lutz Molderings  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
+ ...
works for me Apr 16, 2010

Don't understand this, Peter.
My termbase is 1.8 GB, my TM almost 1.5 GB. Both work fine with SDL Studio.

My computer specs are similar to yours, although I am running Windows 7 (64).

[Edited at 2010-04-16 17:30 GMT]

Peter Sass
Germany
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Apr 16, 2010

.. a lot for the info Lutz! This gives me reason to believe that my problem may 'just' be related to one of the numerous Studio/MT bugs. So there's some hope I could get this TB to work.
Best wishes
Peter

Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
French to Polish
+ ...
2 GB boundary Apr 17, 2010

Peter Sass (M.A.) wrote:

I'd like to use it in Trados Studio but whenever it is leveraged, Studio breaks down.
This is especially unfortunate as I was planning to expand the TB up to a size of about 2 GB.