When should I merge several smaller TMs into a giant TM?
Thread poster: Fredrik Pettersson

Fredrik Pettersson  Identity Verified
Hong Kong
Member (2009)
English to Swedish
+ ...
May 2, 2010

This is the folder structure I use for all my translation projects in Trados:

Source
Project 1 Target
Customer A
Documents Project 2 Source
Customer B Target
D:
Business
Language pair 1 Technical
Translation memories Customer A
Customer B

Language pair 2

I have one customer that I always translate user manuals for. It is always the same general category of electronics (computer mice, MP3-players, etc). Most of the time the same language pair 1.
I have just started for this client, and I'm a beginner using Trados. I want to structure my TMs the best way from the beginning.

My question is if I after a while, working for this client, doing translations in the same general category of electronics, can merge the TM for this client with TMs for other clients (also technical translations) into a giant TM called TM Technical? And this TM Technical I can use for any client that I do technical translations for?

What is the limit for the size of a TM, when does it slow down Trados too much?

I suppose I can't create a 'super-TM' from all TMs from all customers and all translation fields (technical, business, medicine, etc)?

Is this a wise method: to start creating a small TM for each individual customer, and after a while merge TMs from different customers into TMs for specific translation fields (technical, business, medicine, etc)?

Direct link Reply with quote

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 23:16
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
The advantage of a "super-TM" May 2, 2010

Hi Fredrik,

I have a super-TM. It is very large and I made an Autosuggest dictionary out of it. The Autosuggest dictionary is very useful to attach to every project.