Unable to open .tmx memory in Trados 2007
Thread poster: Louise Gough

Louise Gough  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:26
German to English
+ ...
May 7, 2010

Apologies if this has been asked somewhere before, but I can't seem to find a similar problem on the forum.

I'm fairly new to translation memory, but have managed to complete a few jobs using Tag Editor. In the past I have been able to open TM files but the one I've just been sent by a client has the .tmx suffix and Trados does not offer the option of opening this type of file in the menu, it just offers .tmw. Now the strange thing is that I am able to open the TM in 2009 Studio, but for some reason the 2007 version will not let me load this TM.

Any advice on how to proceed to the stage where I can pretranslate the Word file in Trados 2007 using the TM that the client has supplied would be greatly appreciated. I can see a long and frustrating weekend stretching ahead!

Thanks and best regards

Louise

[Edited at 2010-05-07 14:56 GMT]

[Edited at 2010-05-07 15:18 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Oscar Martin
Spain
Local time: 04:26
English to Spanish
+ ...
TMX file May 7, 2010

Hi Louise,

You cannot open directly a TMX file in Trados 2007. You must open an existing .tmw TM or create a new one in Trados Workbench. Then, you go to File > Import and select TMX 1.4 in the window, select the tmx file and click OK.

Oscar

Evija Rimšāne  Identity Verified
Latvia
Local time: 05:26
English to Latvian
~ May 7, 2010

Simply import it in a new TM.

United Kingdom
German to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
TM created but now it won't work... May 7, 2010

Thank you both - I've tried that and it appears to have created the translation memory, but when I try to open it for the job I get an error message that says "An error occurred while trying to verify the license. Please check the installation and try again. Translator's Workbench Freelance will now close."