Basic question about translation memories
Thread poster: Profdoc

Profdoc
Local time: 05:06
Swedish to English
May 10, 2010

I have downloaded and installed a 30 day trial version of SDL Trados Studio 2009 Professional to evaluate it as a possible translations tool for the company where I work. The translation memory function could save us quite a bit of work – if I could get it to function, that is. Here's my problem, and it's probably a simple one since I'm a complete rookie:
I've set up a sdltm-file with US English as source language and Swedish as target language. The English source text is in place and I have translated it to Swedish. Now, how do I actually get the translation memory (I've set one up called USEng-SweTest) to register the translations I've made? I've changed the target text status first to Translated, then Approved and finally Signed Off, but the translation memory is still empty. Is this because I'm running a trial version or am I missing something else?

[Edited at 2010-05-10 11:14 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Kjersti Farrier  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:06
English to Norwegian (Bokmal)
+ ...
Is the Translation Memory properly attached to the project? May 10, 2010

Tjenar Mattias,

First of all make sure that the TM has been added correctly to the project.
Open Project - Project Settings. Under Language Pairs and TM for your language pair make sure that the TM is added there and has a tick in the Update checkbox. If it is there then there are several ways to add your translation to the project's TM:
- Press Alt + Right (arrow) - this is the one I tend to use as it moves the cursor down to the next untranslated segment
- Ctrl + Alt + PgUp (Add as new translation)
- To add all of the translations to the project's TM go to Project - Batch Tasks - Update Main Translation Memories (but this is normally done after everything has been translated).