Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Is there a way to exclude repetitive text from translation within the individual TU?
Thread poster: Mirja Maletzki

Mirja Maletzki  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 07:35
Korean to German
+ ...
Jun 4, 2010

Hello!

I am fairly new to Trados, so I hope I can get some help here.

I am doing a game translation these days which looks like this in Word 2007. As for Trados I am working with the SDL Trados Studio 2009.

Below you can see what the source text looks like. I have got about 13000 "rows" like this to translate. Now as you might imagine I only want to translate the second part of each row.

So is there a possibility to get Trados to ignore the first part?

|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnProcess_1|LSBI UA Alert . . . %1|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnProcess_2|You did not answer the question.|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnRender_1|Under Investigation for an “Unauthorized|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnRender_2|AFK”. Answer to verify you are present.|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnRender_3|Incorrect ( %1 + %2 = %3, Entered : %4 )|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnRender_4|Please try again.|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnRender_5|One more incorrect answer will take you to the Plaza.|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnRender_6|Incorrect ( %1 + %2 = %3, Entered : %4 )|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnRender_7|Please try again.|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnRender_8|%1 ÷ %2 =|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnRender_9|%1 + %2 =|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnRender_10|%1 - %2 =|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::OnRender_11|%1 x %2 =|
|EXE_AbuseProblemWnd::SetAbuseQuiz_1|Entered %1password failed : %2 + %3 = %4, Enter : %5|

Direct link Reply with quote

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 23:35
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
Yes, this can be done with Studio Jun 5, 2010

You would need to add these recurring expressions in the first part to your variables list in your language resource template. Please check your documentation for information on how to do this.

Germany
Korean to German
+ ...