If SDL Studio crashes, is my work lost?
Thread poster: Marinus Vesseur

Marinus Vesseur  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 02:41
English to Dutch
+ ...
Jun 5, 2010

I was just on the verge of developing some sympathies for Studio when after a day of work because of some silly Windows update the system reboots.
After restarting Studio I can find my project, but a days work appears to be gone. All target segments of the file I was working on are empty. The TM apparently did not store the translations in the process.
At least when Trados 2007 crashed I could be relatively sure my work was automatically saved in the TM. What did I do wrong this time?


 

Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 11:41
English to Czech
+ ...
Can't be true Jun 5, 2010

Hi Marinus,
all your translations are stored in the SDLXLIFF and in the TM (whether a Project TM or a Main TM) immediately once you confirm them. Therefore, if you didn't delete those your files from your HDD, your work can't be gone, unless you failed to confirm all segments. That would be the only logical explanation.


 

Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:41
French to Polish
+ ...
Saving data... Jun 5, 2010

Marinus Vesseur wrote:

I was just on the verge of developing some sympathies for Studio when after a day of work because of some silly Windows update the system reboots.
After restarting Studio I can find my project, but a days work appears to be gone. All target segments of the file I was working on are empty.

Unlike DVX or memoQ which are transactional systems where every operation is stored automatically and the document doesn't need to be saved, the SDLXLIFF is a normal document which you must save manualy.
You have no autosave which seems to be an error in the design.

The TM apparently did not store the translations in the process.

You use Ctrl+Enter to confirm the segment?

At least when Trados 2007 crashed I could be relatively sure my work was automatically saved in the TM. What did I do wrong this time?

Well.
I hate the automatic Windows updates.
I allow rhe download but I always launch 'em manually on my crucial machines.
Change your settings.

Cheers
GG


 

Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:41
French to Polish
+ ...
Studio doesn't save SDLXLIFF files automatically Jun 5, 2010

Stanislav Pokorny wrote:

all your translations are stored in the SDLXLIFF and in the TM (whether a Project TM or a Main TM) immediately once you confirm them.

No.
The confirmed segment is not written immediately in the SDLXLIFF, the changes are stored in the RAM and are committed when the file is saved.
Studio doesn't save SDLXLIFF files automatically.
So, an unplanned reboot discards all the changes made in the file.

Therefore, if you didn't delete those your files from your HDD, your work can't be gone, unless you failed to confirm all segments. That would be the only logical explanation.

It seems to be the case.
The confrmed segments should be at least in the TM.

BTW.
Check project TMs.
Maybe some TM association was lost too.

Cheers
GG


 

Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 11:41
English to Czech
+ ...
Saving indeed Jun 5, 2010

Grzegorz Gryc wrote:
No.
The confirmed segment is not written immediately in the SDLXLIFF, the changes are stored in the RAM and are committed when the file is saved.
Studio doesn't save SDLXLIFF files automatically.


You're right, GG, of course. I save the document "automatically" every three or four segments.


The confrmed segments should be at least in the TM.


That's what I meant in my previous post.

[Upraveno: 2010-06-05 10:09 GMT]


 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

If SDL Studio crashes, is my work lost?

Advanced search







SDL Trados Studio 2017 only €435 / $519
Get the cheapest prices for SDL Trados Studio 2017 on ProZ.com

Join this translator’s group buy brought to you by ProZ.com and buy SDL Trados Studio 2017 Freelance for only €435 / $519 / £345 / ¥63000 You will also receive FREE access to Studio 2019 when released.

More info »
Déjà Vu X3
Try it, Love it

Find out why Déjà Vu is today the most flexible, customizable and user-friendly tool on the market. See the brand new features in action: *Completely redesigned user interface *Live Preview *Inline spell checking *Inline

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search