Creating Translation Memories from past translations in Trados Studio?
Thread poster: pk75
pk75
Local time: 21:44
English to German
Jun 25, 2010

Hi,

beg pardon if this is a stupid question, but how do I go about to create a translation memory from my past translations, which are pairs of word docs - one source, the other target?

I have a huge base of texts I translated that I would now like to use for building TMs. I get as far as creating an 'empty' TM with no translation units. Can't I now just open one of the old source texts in the one column, then the translated file in the other and somehow tell the program which segments are supposed to be equivalent? I thought that was the whole point. Do I really need to enter the past translations one sentence at a time? Surely there must be a way to avoid that?

I have been translating happily without any CAT tools at all for the past nine years but thought it might be a good idea to check out what they could do for me. There are some good reasons. I seriously tried in vain to find the answer in the Trados help, Trados for idiots by an idiot and Jerzy Czopik's tutorial (as well as a thread here full of bitterness and frustration esl.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/56594-i_need_a_good_trados_tutorial.html so please believe me I don't intend to rub salt into existing wounds The tutorials are mainly concerned with previous versions of Trados though, and with creating TMs from scratch by translating new texts, and also I understand there has been a major change of user interface with the introduction of Trados Studio.

Direct link Reply with quote

Michael Joseph Wdowiak Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:44
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Use WinAlign Jun 25, 2010

It should come with Studio, although it belongs to the old Trados suite.

Hope this helps!

pk75
English to German
TOPIC STARTER
It doesn't. Jun 25, 2010

HINWEIS:
SDL WinAlign erfordert, dass SDL Trados 2007 installiert ist