Moving up and down Trados 2007
Thread poster: Lidia Morejudo

Lidia Morejudo  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:05
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 1, 2010

Sorry, if the question is too basic, but I'm new to Trados and trying to "teach myself". When I do translations it seems quite easy to move forward to the next translation unit. However if I make a mistake I can't seem to be able to go up to change the translation. I have to close the file, open it again, and work my way down to where the mistake was. I am sure there is a direct way to access a translation line, but when I try clicking on a translation line that has already been closed I can't modify it.
In Wordfast it seems much easier, just you can move up and down however you want!

Direct link Reply with quote

Luisa Ramos, CT  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:05
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
Close Open Jul 1, 2010

Close your current segment, take the cursor to the segment you wish to change and open it again, make your change, close the segment. Return to the segment you were about to translate when you decided to go back. If you follow this method the next time you open a 100% matching segment the translation appearing will be the one with the change incorporated.

If you work with hidden text visible, just go to the segment you wish to change and make your changes in the target text, being careful not to mess the Trados codes, and return to where you were. If you follow this method the next time you open a 100% matching segment the translation appearing will be the first one you did, so you will have to incorporate the same change.