Edit Window ergonomics and wishlist
Thread poster: Ward Whittaker

Ward Whittaker  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 02:03
Portuguese to English
Jul 5, 2010

I've been trialling SDL Trados Studio 2009 for a couple of months now and are a few issues that I would like to know if other people are experiencing and whether they feel the same way as I do. There is no doubt that Studio 2009 is a fine product, it offers exceptional feedback to the translator when working on large multi-document projects, but I do feel it's lacking in some areas and I wonder if there are workarounds for what I am experiencing. As I said, I'm still new to this version having... See more
I've been trialling SDL Trados Studio 2009 for a couple of months now and are a few issues that I would like to know if other people are experiencing and whether they feel the same way as I do. There is no doubt that Studio 2009 is a fine product, it offers exceptional feedback to the translator when working on large multi-document projects, but I do feel it's lacking in some areas and I wonder if there are workarounds for what I am experiencing. As I said, I'm still new to this version having gone straight from Trados 7 to SDL 2009, so any feedback from other users or from SDL is welcome.

My primary problem is that after using Trados for many years, my eyes are extremely accustomed to seeking up and down when looking at source and target boxes. I find it having to use a left right eye movement leaves me extremely tired at the end of the day.
My wish list for the edit window and SDL 2009 in general is that: