Thread poster: Sandra Guggisberg

Sandra Guggisberg  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 10:54
English to German
+ ...
Aug 17, 2010

Hi everyone

I am an intern in a small translation office and got the task to export a whole bunch of term bases out of Transit XV and import them into MultiTerm 2009. I used the "MARTIF"-Format, since they claim that it is readable by other database programmes. However, MultiTerm doesn't accept it.

Is there any way of exporting out of TermStar as an .xml or .txt file? Thanks in advance for any hints

Direct link Reply with quote

Antoní­n Otáhal
Member (2005)
English to Czech
+ ...
I published my own macro (Martif to XLS) Aug 17, 2010

http://www.proz.com/forum/transit_support/175988-export_mdb_file_from_termstar_nxt.html

Switzerland
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Dekuji :-) Aug 18, 2010

Hi Antonin,

Thank you very for the quick reply and for sharing your macro! I ran it in MS Excel 2007 VBA, however, the file it returns is empty (size: 0 KB). Is there something I might have missed?

Cheers,
Sandra

Antoní­n Otáhal
Member (2005)
English to Czech
+ ...
two possibilities of problems: Transit to mtf, or mtf to xls Aug 18, 2010

I have just verified that it works in MS Excel 2007 - well, at least for me it does. The only thing to cope with is the Unicode formatting of the output; you will have to resolve that issue somehow (via csv or so).

1. Is you export to Martif correct? You have to check at least the "Value list" when exporting. When you open the exported mtf file in Notepad or something like that, do you see (amid all that xml garbage) any items you would like to have in your xls?

2. My way of using it is to copy and paste the macro text into a VBA module in the Personal.xls hidden book, then running it "normally". I am not sure what you mean by "I ran it in MS Excel 2007 VBA" but I suppose ypou did something similar to my description...

Antonin

Switzerland
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER