Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Bilingual Excel files with max length
Thread poster: Sarandil
Sarandil
Sarandil
Local time: 08:45
Aug 20, 2010

Hi,
I'm new to Trados, using Trados 2009, and the client that I work with most frequently sends Excel files. These contain columns for "Identifier", "Old Reference", "Reference", translation, "Max Length" and "Change Type" (translation or review). The translation column regularly already has a translation implemented that just has to be updated.

Often the sequence of columns when completed is repeated in a new set of columns for another version of the text, in which some Excel
... See more
Hi,
I'm new to Trados, using Trados 2009, and the client that I work with most frequently sends Excel files. These contain columns for "Identifier", "Old Reference", "Reference", translation, "Max Length" and "Change Type" (translation or review). The translation column regularly already has a translation implemented that just has to be updated.

Often the sequence of columns when completed is repeated in a new set of columns for another version of the text, in which some Excel cells in the translation column usually has to be localised and others doesn't. The files are sometimes large, up to some 10,000 words, and sometimes tiny, like 100 words, and sometimes come several times a day with a deadline just some 2 hours away.

The project the Excel files are part of is yearly, consists of some 100,000 words and has, more rarely, also Word files and itd files.

My question is: How can I best work with these files using Trados (first and foremost a Translation Memory and a TermBase)? I'm looking for a good routine. I have problems importing the source and target text into Trados from the Excel files in a swift manner, and I have no idea of how I can get it to work with the character max length for each Excel cell that I often have to respect (which is crucial).

I would be extremely thankful for any help that could be offered. Thanks in advance.