Trados licence
Thread poster: kat1980

kat1980
Local time: 15:40
German to English
+ ...
Aug 26, 2010

Hello there:)

I have my name down to buy the latest TRados 2009 suite. However, I will be investing in a new laptop in 4 mths. Does anyone know if it will be possible to download my Trados to the new laptop aswell? This is my first time buying Trados and as such i am not familiar with how exactly the licences work. Is it just one per computer or per owner?

As a branch-off question, I am also investing in a technical dictional (Ernst Wörterbuch der industriellen Technik) in CD ROM and have the same worry. Will i be able to just transfer it to my future laptop.

Thanks so much for any advice, I really appreciate it.

Kathryn

Walter Blaser  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 16:40
French to German
+ ...
The licence is transferrable Aug 27, 2010

Kathryn

I guess you are talking about the Freelance version of SDL Trados Studio 2009 (not Suite). There is no problem to transfer the licence to another PC. To do this, you simply need to return the licence from the computer where it is currently activated. Once you have done this, the licence is available again and you can use it on your new computer.

Problems only arise if you do not have a chance to return the licence for example because your PC crashes or if you forget to do it before wiping the PC.

No problem either with the Brandstetter dictionary, you can install it on a new PC. The only limitation is that you can only have it installed in one place at a time.

Walter

kat1980
Local time: 15:40
German to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks for your reply Aug 27, 2010

Thank you for the information Walter, very helpful. Kathryn

Witold Chocholski  Identity Verified
Poland
English to Polish
+ ...
Studio 2009 licence is valid on 2 machines Aug 27, 2010

Walter is right. What's more, I use Trados 2009 and my licence allows the installation on 2 machines.