Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
How do I open a tmw file in SDL Trados 2009 (don't have 2007)?
Thread poster: Hanna Dermes

Hanna Dermes  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 22:36
English to Swedish
+ ...
Aug 27, 2010

I am new to SDL Trados and I'm trying to open a tmw TM in Trados 2009 and get the error message " The translation memory C:\........ is not supported: Trados file-based translation memories cannot be migrated because SDL Trados 2007 is not installed on this machine" Click OK to continue loading the translation memories or click Cancel to stop loading translation memories"
I have never had SDL Trados 2007, but I can't imagine that I would have to have had the older version to be able to open or convert tmw files....
I have the SDL Trados 2009 Starting Edition but I'm using the full trial version right now.

I have tried to search the Trados help menu and the Internet for answers and can only find help on how to open tmw's i Trados 2007.

Does anyone know the easiest way to open or convert a tmw TM? I appreciate the help!!

Addition: after searching for another hour it seems as i would need to have the Trados 2007 to be able to upgrade older TMs. Since I am using the trial version and only have purchased the SDL Starter Edition I can't download the 2007. Are there any ways to convert the tmw file into another format and then open it in Trados 2009? Thanks!

[Edited at 2010-08-28 00:54 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Eduardo García Soñanes
Mexico
Local time: 15:36
English to Spanish
Upgrade the TM in Studio 2009 Aug 28, 2010

Hello Hanna,

Have you tried upgrading the TM in Studio 2009?

Go to Tools > Upgrade Translation Memories... At the windows that appears, select the .tmw file of your TM and follow the onscreen instructions.

Hope this helps
Eduardo

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 04:36
Member (2004)
English to Thai
+ ...
TMX format? Aug 28, 2010

Hanna Dermes wrote: