Thread poster: Carrie Comer

Carrie Comer  Identity Verified
Guatemala
Local time: 02:02
Spanish to English
+ ...
Sep 6, 2010

Hi all,

I am just beginning to use Trados, and have already run into a problem! My client sent me four bilingual word documents (that when I open only appear in the target language), and wants me to use trados to review them. However, Trados won't let me import the documents in that format. Am I missing something here? I am stuck!

I also have access to the original documents.

Any help would be wonderful. I'm working with a tight deadline!

Thanks,
Carrie

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 10:02
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Open the files in Word Sep 6, 2010

In Word options then (Tools - Options - View) enable the view of ALL non-printable characters.
This will show you the source and target text in a single Word file, separated by so called "segment delimeters", looking like those <0}Source text{0}Target text{0>

When working with such file be sure not to damage any of those symbols. You need to correct just the target side - either with or without track changes mode, depending on what you've agreed with your customer.

[Edited at 2010-09-06 20:38 GMT]

Carrie Comer  Identity Verified
Guatemala
Local time: 02:02
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
It's not possible to use Trados then? Sep 6, 2010

Thank you, Jerzy, that makes sense, and I am able to review the document. Your answer was very clear.

However, in the instructions sent to me by the client, she specifically requested that I use Trados. It is possible that the instructions she sent were meant more for the translator than for the reviewer.

I just want to confirm that it is not, in fact, possible, since I do have the original source document as well.

This is my first job with this client and I would hate to blow it over a technical misunderstanding!

[Edited at 2010-09-06 20:57 GMT]

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)